The Aussie Wedding

My first stop in Australia, after landing in the Gold Coast (following 8+ hours of flying–it looks so close to Asia on a map, but really it isn’t!), was the small town of Maryborough.  Not first on most travelers’ agendas.  But this was where the main event–the wedding that I came to Australia for–was held.  Maryborough is actually a charming little town, made more so by the fact that I had two welcoming families worth of relatives and friends to spend time with.  The wedding was sandwiched between the “traditionally Aussie” events of BBQ and “watching the footy” with the groom’s family the night before and all-day BBQ and drinks with the bride’s family the day after.

Downtown Maryborough

Three months earlier I had watched my friends Sam and Karlee celebrate a Lao-style wedding, and here I saw them tie the knot Western-style.  The two ceremonies were very different–the style of food, dress, and language of ceremony, just to name a few things–but both were beautiful and had superb dance floors.  Now I just wish they would go get married in yet another country…


1 Comment

Filed under Australia, Maryborough

One response to “The Aussie Wedding

  1. TT

    they look as good in Western wedding dress!

Leave a comment